Sunday, August 4, 2013

Charles S Roberts Award winners have been announced

We have some surprising victors this year with Victory Point Games coming in big in the Best Pre-20th Century Era Computer Wargame category.

However an iPad title winning COMPUTER wargame is a bit of a farce. I really don't want to see tablet titles taking awards from COMPUTER titles. They need to split that category. Tablet titles do not hold a candle to PC wargames

Here is the link to the full list

And some winners:

Best Ancient to Napoleonic Era Board Wargame
Amateurs, to Arms! (by Kevin McPartland), Clash of Arms Games
Fading Glory (by Lance McMillan), GMT Games
Kingdom of Heaven (by Scott de Brestian), Multi Man Publications, Inc. (MMP)
The Battle of Fontenoy (by Paul Dangel), Clash of Arms Games
Virgin Queen (by Ed Beach), GMT Games

Best Post-Napoleonic to Pre-World War 2 Era Board Wargame
Battles of 1866: Frontier Battles (by Mike Bennighof), Avalanche Press
Bloody April (by Terry Simo), GMT Games
Guns of the Askari (by John Gorkowski), Against the Odds magazine (ATO)
Somme 1918 (by Thomas Pouchin), Nuts Publishing
Zulus on the Ramparts (2nd edition) (by Joe Miranda), Victory Point Games

Best World War 2 Era Board Wargame
It Never Snows (by Dean Essig), Multi Man Publications, Inc. (MMP)
No Question of Surrender (MMP) (by Nick Richardson), Multi Man Publications, Inc. (MMP)
Panzer (2nd Edition) (by James Day), GMT Games
Red Winter (by Mark Mokszycki), GMT Games
The Blitzkrieg Legend (by Hans Kishel), Multi Man Publications, Inc. (MMP)